When What You Need is Rest

Helloooooooo! How’ve you all been? Good? I hope so.

My hiatus is finally over and though it was longer than I anticipated, it was a necessary break. As I’ve mentioned in a post earlier this year, I had really been struggling with my mental health. This break was a very important one and has brought a lot of positive changes. I was reminded during this time how important mental health truly is and, as a strong advocate for mental wellbeing, I am determined to practice what I preach.

One of the most important things that came out of the break was rest. Part of my break involved a major move (relocation) and this has allowed me space to breathe and think. I had, over the years, unwittingly gathered to myself a lot of toxicity and the place I was at (physically, mentally, spiritually) was no longer healthy or good for me. Taking a step back has allowed me to

  1. Detox my mind (and soul)
  2. Assess where I was and currently am
  3. Prepare myself for what is to come

Sometimes, for the sake of our mental and spiritual wellbeing, we need to take some steps back from our lives as we know it. In some cases, like mine, it’s more than stepping back – it’s resetting your life. If you’re anything like me, that can feel uncomfortable. Just knowing that you have come so far and will now have to take several steps back can mess with your emotions and mind. However, if it’s a case where you are heading down a path that seems to be doing you more harm than good, resetting or taking a break is more than necessary.

Quite often we try to continue life as we know it simply because, well, it’s what we know. However, continuing down a particular path simply because you have already invested a lot of time, effort and essentially banked your life on it doesn’t automatically make it the right path. Sometimes length of time is a poor determining factor of what we should invest in. It’s OK to step away and readjust your lenses. That doesn’t mean that you are a flake or you have no idea what to do with life. It just means that things change and you need time to figure those things out. And that’s OK.

thumb_someone-said-dont-be-afraid-to-start-over-again-this-61539206

How can you tell that you need to take a break from life as you know it? Here are a few signs to look out for:

  • You are no longer enjoying the things you used to
  • You feel frustration, stress and irritation quite often – sometimes daily
  • You dread each day and look forward to it ending, even if it’s just begun
  • You find yourself just going through the motions in everything. Or, worse, you no longer care about what it is you are doing
  • You are experiencing mental breakdowns, feeling physically sick all the time (even though there is nothing physically wrong with you), developing poor eating and sleeping habits, experiencing anxiety or panic attacks (if you are prone to these).
  • You feel an overwhelming desire to escape life as you know it and dream of being anywhere else but where you currently are.

If you are experiencing any of these or anything similar, then maybe it’s time to take that pause. I’m not telling you to do what I did and drop everything and leave. There are, however, other ways you can break away from the humdrum of life and rest your mind. Here are a few suggestions for your rest:

  1. If you are an employee, ask for casual days or take some sick days. While not many employers understand the importance of mental health enough to see taking a mental day as something that is necessary (certainly here in Jamaica, it’s not widely acknowledged), speak to HR or your supervisor to try and work on getting some time off. Please note: DO NOT ABUSE THE SYSTEM!
  2. Take a break from some of your activities/responsibilities. The things you have taken on to yourself that can function well without you, step away from those for a while. Many of us, myself included, tend to take on a million and one things and say yes to everything with no consideration of our limitations. Hear me out; you cannot give your best to something if you are not operating at your best. So alert people of your break (if you need to) then just… disappear. For a while.
  3. Take social media breaks. It is a known fact that frequent social media usage contributes to feelings of worthlessness, low self-esteem and depression in young adults and teenagers. While I am not blaming social media for anything (it’s only a channel) managing your usage on the different apps can help you. Taking days offline can contribute to relaxing your mind and shifting your focus.
  4. Indulge in some fun yet relaxing activities. Tired of the mundane parts of life? Take a weekend or a day and do something you love. It can be anything: go out of town to some quiet getaway, try your hand at painting, read that book that’s collecting dust on your desk, cook a nice healthy meal, go on a hike or have a night in with friends. Doing something relaxing and not mentally taxing can help your resting and relaxing period and give you an extra boost in mental wellness.
  5. Pray and spend time with God. As Christians, quite often we neglect the very core of our faith, which is our relationship with God. Believe it or not, losing that connection or not having a strong relationship with God can affect our mental wellbeing. Constant worry about our future or being doubtful about our life’s path can contribute to anxiety and depression. However, praying, reading the word and spending time in the presence of God can not only strengthen our faith but give us peace of mind. He gives us the tools we need to handle the pressures of life so it’s just for us to grab hold of them and use them. If you are a Christian struggling with maintaining a good mental health status, take some time to just talk to God. He will definitely guide you and give you the peace you need.

All these tips, whether done on their own or all together in some way, are a few things that can help us get mental rest and regain a sense of balance in our lives. While life can be very demanding, it is important that we acknowledge our limitations and take care of ourselves. We are stewards over our bodies and lives, so it is our responsibility to take the best care of them.

Announcement!!

I have launched a mental health support group on Facebook! This has something I’ve been wanting to do and it’s finally manifested. So, if you are a Christian struggling with mental wellness or living with mental illness and you want to be in the company of people who will support you and stand in your corner, follow this link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/396895301241553/

Also, be sure to like The Stilled Soul on Facebook!

Support Group Poster

 

Note: this group is a closed group so as to facilitate privacy and protection of people’s information. There will be questions asked when you ‘apply’ so look out for those and based on your responses (and prayer) you will be added. My team and I are looking forward to sharing with everyone who will be part of this group. See you soon!

 

 

3 thoughts on “When What You Need is Rest

  1. Welcome back! and as always, thanks for sharing! We can’t stress enough how important rest is.
    I believe I was stuck being a “yes-man”, but I’m getting out of the habit and respecting my personal limits. I also made a big life change and though I’m now in an area where people work with little rest, I am determined to not let that lifestyle get a hold of me.
    Looking forward to what’s to come. God bless 💚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy to be back! I totally get the yes-man vibe… it’s the worse and so many of us fall trap to that. I really hope you continue to maintain respecting your boundaries and limits. 💚

      Like

Leave a comment